Review: Strawberry PB2

Peanut butter and jelly, the typical childhood favourite. Unfortunately I never had this as a child, believe it or not there was a time before I consumed copious amounts of peanut butter! Anyhow Americandy Imports were kind enough to send me some Strawberry PB2 to try, this is a fat reduced powdered peanut butter.

powder

I have previously reviewed the original version (the post can be found here) and so had high hopes for this little gem. First, the texture, it’s amazing. You mix this powder with milk or water to your desired consistency and it goes completely smooth, no grainy lumps, which is one of the reasons I liked this product. I’m pretty sure I started with texture last time I reviewed a PB2 product.

Onto the all important taste – don’t expect fresh strawberries (why I did, I don’t know) but I was pleasantly surprised it didn’t taste of illegal strawberry sweets that you find abroad, i.e. overly, and I mean really overly, tasting of artificial strawberries. This is probably because the flavouring is natural and no additives have been used (big win).  Me being me instantly got some in a bagel and drizzling it all over the place, I liked pairing it with cinnamon as I found the flavour ‘flat’ if you can describe a flavour as flat… anyway this makes a perfect addiction to both bagels and french toast.

Now the macros, these kind of products are designed as macro saving products so they’re pretty damn good.

  • For a 12g serving – 50kcal, 1g fat, 6g carbs, 4g protein.

So as you can see 1g of fat, which is good if you are on a calorie restricted diet, or you just want to save your macros for regular peanut butter.

I’ve used this PB2 a lot already, from bagels and pancakes to baking. If you’re a big peanut butter fan like me and just must have it at every meal, you need to get some of this!

pb2-cookies

Disclaimer: I was sent this sample by Americandy Imports for free, all opinion’s and comments are my own.

One thought on “Review: Strawberry PB2

Leave a Reply

