Pea Protein Banana Bread

img_2758

The classical banana bread… is it possible not to love this? I’ve taken the good old fashioned staple and given it a protein packed makeover using (stomach friendly) pea protein. Don’t worry this recipe is still as delicious as the original.

I had a good ol’ experiment in the kitchen, I spent a lot of time separating eggs until I eventually caved and brought egg whites, the vast amount of egg (I know it looks a lot, but trust me) is needed due to the amount of liquid coconut flour absorbs. When I first played around with this recipe I used oat flour which worked really well, I make my own using Flahavans oats and blitzing them in a high powered mixer, but I think buckwheat flour works even better here as it has a much deeper flavour which compliments the banana. Another perk of buckwheat flour is you do not have to blend it which means less horrible blender noise and less washing up! The little things hey 😂. On the subject of blending I have also tried blending the banana, to make a puree, or just simply mashing it with a fork. The fork method lead to more banana ‘chunks’ throughout the bread, and less washing up because no need for a blender! Plus if you’re like me and smile nicely at a parent (usually works well with my dad) they will do the banana mashing for you.

img_2643

Now the fun! Toppings! I take this banana bread to school with me as a snack so toppings are at most some peanut butter. But as soon as the ‘at home’ creativity kicks in I had all kind of things stacked up on a toasted slice of this bread. Of course my number one recommendation is to slather a slice in nut butter or Sweet Freedom choc shot, but I would love to see what ingenious topping you guys come up with. If you follow me on Instagram (if you don’t, what are you doing 😉) you will know of my waffled french toast obsession, and it you don’t you are about to be introduced to it! I tried making french toast out the this banana bread and I can report it worked very nicely, with all the toppings obviously!

8 slices

Ingredients

  • 250g Ripe banana
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 Egg whites
  • 40g Pulsin Pea protein
  • 80g Buckwheat flour (oat flour also works well)
  • 20g Sukrin coconut flour
  • 1 tsp Bicarbonate of soda
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Mixed spice
  • 1 tsp Vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp Jordans Skinny Syrup – vanilla ( or other liquid sweetener)
  • Coconut oil
  • Optional add ins – fresh berries, nuts etc

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 180 degrees and oil a loaf tin with coconut oil.
  • Mix all the dry ingredients in a bowl.
  • In a separate bowl mash or puree the banana and stir in the other wet ingredients until well combined.
  • Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients (I found it was easier this way!) and mix carefully, stir in any add ins you like.
  • Pour the batter into the greased loaf tin and place in the oven.
  • Cook for 30 minutes. Check in the last few minutes, if the cake is cooked through, a skewer will come out clean when poked through the middle.

Macros (per slice): 111kcal, 2g fat,14.5g carbs, 2.6g fiber, 8.6g protein.

(No I’m not lying, the fat content is really that low, which mean cover in it PB!)

Remember if you make any of my recipes to take a picture, post it to Instagram and tag me @wavesfitness and use the hashtag #wavescreations

2 thoughts on “Pea Protein Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

