Review: PJ Kombucha

PJ Kombucha kindly sent me their 3 flavours of kombucha to try. I went into this not really knowing a lot about this drink, so after a bit of research and some taste testing (we all know this is the best part!) I’ve put together this post. A nice simplified overview of what kombucha is, including a little bit of science and of course my options on the kombucha from PJ Kombucha.

PJ Kombucha are a small start-up company located in Birmingham set up by its founders Paddy and Joel. They have fine tuned their brewing method to produce a raw unpasteurized drink containing an array of vitamins, organic acids, enzymes and probiotics with the minimal amount of sugar. Brewing kombucha is thought to have originated in Asia, where it was used for its detoxifying and energising properties. It was later used in Russia in the First World War to help with headaches and intestinal problems. Kombucha is now being made more readily available in the UK and Europe as a way to boost gastrointestinal health.

The science – as you probable know, I’m a bit of a geek and love to know the why behind things. Kombucha is actually made from tea, sugar is then added, and when combined with a symbiotic culture of bacteria and yeast (scoby for short) the tea ferments. Due to the fermentation process there can be yeast floating in the drink, this is completely safe to drink, but some people may prefer to strain the kombucha first. Yes, kombucha does contain alcohol BUT only in trace amounts (no more than 1%) therefore it does not have and negative side effects. I can definitely vouch for this being someone who can get drunk of a glass of wine!

Now on to the good bit – the flavours!

  • The first flavour I tried was the Original – after you’ve got past the rather shocking colour of this drink you get a nice fizz. The first taste reminded me of a cross between apple cider and vinegar but the sweetness helped with this. After a few more sips I was definitely tasting the apple more.

original

  • Next on the list was the Ginger and Lime – I really liked this flavour, it was less sweet than the original which I preferred. It still had that same slight fizz as the original which I enjoy. This flavour reminded me a bit of a cocktail, so if you’re looking for a healthy alternative to cocktails this is the flavour for you!

ginger-and-lime

  • I saved the flavour I was most excited to try until last – the Hibiscus, I have always liked the look of the flowers and the colour they create when added to drinks. This flavour did not disappoint and is definitely my favourite, its subtle but still takes a way from the apple taste of the original. The deep red colour is also amazing and I think it makes the drink so much more appealing.

hibiscus

Ready to start drinking Kombucha? head to PJ Kombucha and order yourself some of their tasty drinks, you can use the code AlishaPJ16 to get yourself a cheeky 10% off!

//Disclaimer
These products were provided to me free of charge from the lovely people at PJ Kombucha. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced. All information on this page should be taken with a pinch of salt, I am not a qualified nutritionist and you should always consult a doctor if you have concerns. I have used reliable sources when collecting information to try to be as informative as possible, my sources are:
Leave a Reply

