The Bagel Edit

bagel-4-photo

If you follow me on Instagram you will already know of my love for bagels, if you don’t, well, I LOVE bagels.

So, due to my obsession, I thought I should dedicate a post to one of my favorite carb source, the bagel. I used Genius Gluten Free bagels, as they are still light and fluffy despite being gluten free, but all of these fillings could be used in any other bagel that takes your fancy. Now I know some people disagree with toasting a bagel, and I completely agree if its fresh from a bakery, but I usually bulk buy mine at start of the week and put them in the freezer, so yes I do toast my bagels.

Right, now I’ve given you my views on bagels and toasting, let’s get onto the fillings! I’ve given you just a few of my favorite sweet fillings; I have a big sweet tooth…

 

If you make any my lovely bagel combinations please tag me (@wavesfitness) and use the hashtag #wavesbagels

 

Eton Mess

eton-mess-bagel

Ingredients

  • 50g Skyr yogurt.
  • 1/8 tsp vanilla extract.
  • 1 packet Truvia
  • 1 Kallo organic unsalted whole grain rice cake.
  • 60g strawberries.

Method

  • Chop the strawberries into 0.5cm chunks and set aside.
  • Mix the Skyr yogurt with the vanilla extract and Truvia.
  • Break up the rice cake into rough 0.5cm chunks.
  • Spread the yogurt mix on the bagel and sprinkle on the strawberries and rice cake pieces.

Macros: 70kcal, 10.4g carbs, 1.3g fiber, 0.4g fat, 6.3g protein.

 

Chocolate Strawberry Crunch

strawbery-crunch-bagel

Ingredients

  • 1 Strawberry Crunch Nakd bar.
  • 50g Skyr yogurt.
  • ½ tsp Bioglan raw cacao powder.
  • 1 packet Truvia.

Method

  • Cut the Nakd bar into 6 pieces.
  • Mix the Skyr yogurt, cacao and Truvia.
  • Spread the yogurt mix on the bagel and place the Nakd bar pieces on top.

Macros: 140kcal, 16.8g carbs, 1.4g fiber, 2.8g fat, 11g protein.

 

Apple Pie

apple-pie-bagel

Ingredients

  • Half an apple, approx. 60g.
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon.
  • 1/8 tsp all spice.
  • 1 packet Truvia.
  • 25g Skyr yogurt.
  • 3 tbsp water.
  • 5g Sukrin peanut flour + ½ tsp water.

Method

  • Chop the apple into small chunks, about 1cm.
  • Place the chopped apple, cinnamon, all spice, water and Truvia in a saucepan and cook on a medium heat until the apple has turned soft and the majority of the water has been burned off.
  • While the apple is cooking make the peanut butter by mixing the peanut flour and water.
  • Spread the Skyr yogurt on the bottom of the bagel and the peanut butter on the top, place the cooked apple on top of the yogurt.

Macros: 68kcal, 9.8g carbs, 2g fiber, 0.8g fat, 5.4g protein.

 

Mint Choc Chip

mint-choc-chip-bagel

Ingredients

  • Handful mint leaves.
  • 50g Skyr yogurt.
  • 1 packet Truvia.
  • 2 Nairns chocolate chip oatcakes.

Method

  • Dice the mint leaves.
  • Add the diced mint leaves and Truvia to the Skyr yogurt and mix.
  • Bash the biscuits to get chunks.
  • Spread the yogurt mix on the bagel and sprinkle on the biscuit chunks.

Macros: 126kcal, 15.6g carbs, 1.2g fiber, 3.5g fat, 6.9g protein.

 

Happy Bagel-ing!!! Don’t forget to tag me (@wavesfitness) and use the hashtag #wavesfitness

5 thoughts on “The Bagel Edit

Leave a Reply

