How to Stay Healthy on Holiday

Holidays are a time for relaxation and good food; they can also offer a break from fitness or a change of routine. Both of these can be extremely valuable for our mental and physical health. I wanted to share with you some of the things I do before I go on holiday to make sure I don’t lose progress. Here’s my 3 top tips for healthy holidaying!

 

#1 – Plan, plan, plan… but don’t plan.

I’m a sucker for organization, so I love when everything is planned out, but I don’t want this to get in the way of me having a good time on holiday with me family. Being aware that plans can change and others may want to do something else is key. First decide if you actually want to continue exercising consistently or counting macros or what ever it is, holidays can provide a great break from this, which your body may need. You will not lose fitness by reducing or taking a short break from exercise. You can choose whether to include short body weight circuits or even long walks, but plan for this, know what you are going to do and the equipment you will have available and it will make you much more likely to want to do it! P.S. full water bottles make great weights.

Fitness on Holiday

 

#2 – Think balanced.

Part of going on holiday is enjoying the food, especially when travelling abroad! I’m guilty of over indulging in pastries and cakes and forgetting about actual nutrients, and then ending up feeling ill. I try when on holiday to ensure my main meals have a good balance of all the macronutrients, fats, carbs and proteins. Don’t forget the micros!! Fruits and veg are important too; I find that when I’m travelling to Mediterranean countries this is not a problem with all the amazing local produce. Any fellow fussy eaters or special diet eaters out there? I’m one of them, and to accommodate for this I always allow room in my suitcase for food, I go hand luggage only for those wondering. I’ve taken some snacks such as Kallo rice cakes,Flahavans oats and Sukrin peanut flour, along with Truvia sweetener. This means that I never have an excuse not to eat or to eat something that could possibly irritate my stomach. A happy stomach = a happy holiday.

Balanced Meal

 

#3 – There is more to life than rock solid abs.

The gym and meal prep and clean eating and all that stuff will be there when you get back from holiday so go have a good time! If you want that slice of cake have that big slice of cake, it will not ruin all your hard work. It’s important to rest and your body will thank you for it.

Kalkan Panorama

Leave a Reply

